Thankful this Thanksgiving

This Thanksgiving is quite different than any of the one’s I have had the last three years. For the first time I wasn’t up before the sun, getting ready to run the ski lifts for the day. This year I was able to sleep in, read a newspaper and enjoy breakfast on my own time.

Thanksgiving is a major holiday in the ski industry. If the weather allows, resorts will do everything they can to open up for this holiday weekend because it can mean big business for them. November does seem a bit early for skiing, but last year on Thanksgiving, guests got to make turns at almost every mountain at Tahoe that were incredible for only being late November. I made history last year at Mt. Rose on Thanksgiving. Mt. Rose opened up from top to bottom including the chutes on Thanksgiving day. It was the first time in the history of the resort that they were able to completely open entirely that early in the season.

The mountain is like my second family. I’ve never once wanted to be anywhere else, even on a holiday, but this year is different. I am so thankful that today I will get to spend it with those I love. As much as I love skiing and working in the fresh air of the mountain, the Thanksgiving lunch we get up there won’t even compare to the feast I will get to enjoy later tonight.

This year I am thankful to be healthy, happy and supported by so many loving people. It is something I will never take for granted.

Leave a Reply

