Incredible Merger

Big news came out in the ski industry this morning. Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows announced that they are joining forces. This merger brings together two unique mountains for this upcoming winter providing a one-of-a-kind experience for their guests.

I have never been a huge fan of Squaw Valley. Every time I have been to Squaw, there are hoards of people standing around, waiting in line to get on the lift and the conditions have been terrible. Either it was super icy and wind blown, or so slushy that it is impossible to walk anywhere in ski boots. On the other hand, my experience with Alpine Meadows has been amazing. The employees were very friendly, the food was outstanding, and the snow was awesome.

I normally never would have considered buying a season pass to Squaw, even though it is one of the most affordable passes out there, but now I think I might have to reconsider. I will be very interested to see what things both mountains do this winter to improve the experience at both mountains. In the article here, I saw that they are considering connecting the two mountains by either a chairlift of some kind or just through a shuttle that drives between the two resorts. I hope they decide to try and connect the two by chairlift. It would be really cool to just ski back and forth depending on what the snow conditions are like or what the mood is like between friends. Only time will tell to see how good this really is.

 

6 thoughts on “Incredible Merger

  1. Unfortunately, Squaw Valley and Alpine Meadows are not at all progressive or customer oriented. Neither allow snowskates, which have been allowed at other resorts in the area for YEARS. They were both very slow in allowing snowboards as well. I prefer more progressive mountains like Heavenly, Sierra at Tahoe, Donner Ski Ranch, Kirkwood, Etc.

    I’m glad you wrote about the merger. This is cutting edge info!

    Check out my recent blog in response to my first experiment which you commented on!
    http://kendrawilsonnv.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/get-wise-social-media-transformation/

  2. It’s awesome that you mentioned the merger, it’s super exciting and makes me a little more sad about the fact that it’s 80 out side. We’ll just have to see what will happen about the management Alpine used to be so chill and Squaw the opposite even though the terrain is so rad. Oh and I’m sorry you’ve never gotten a god day there because there some of the best.

Leave a Reply

